News: From the Desk of
J. Michael Cross
County Executive

“ADA” Update:

     The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) was signed into law by President George W. Bush in 1990. The purpose of the ADA is to protect the rights of individuals who have physical or mental impairment that substantially limits their ability to perform one or more major life activities. ADA requires “reasonable” accommodations to be made for persons with disabilities to have a fair and equal opportunity to participate in civic programs and activities. For Fentress County Government, this means that access to county buildings and offices should meet ADA standards. Most modern buildings, like the Fentress County Justice Center, were built with those standards in mind. These need no further alterations. Older buildings, like the Fentress County Courthouse, may need minor adjustments to be in compliance.

     ADA requirements cover Employment, Public Services, Public Accommodations and Telecommunications. The standards prohibit discrimination in the way that local governments provide or offer services, programs, or activities, including public transportation, public education, employment, recreation, health care, social services, courts, voting and public meetings.

     The Fentress County Commission has voted to retain architect Allen Hill of Upland Design to evaluate all county owned buildings and make the appropriate recommendations to bring them into compliance with all federal ADA standards. One of the major problems for a lot of older buildings is lack of wheelchair access. This could result in the building of “ramps” or alterations to sidewalks for some buildings or offices.

     Bringing all Fentress County buildings up to ADA compliance standards, puts our county ahead of most surrounding counties.

     We can be reached at 879-7713. Executive Assistant Amanda Hicks can also be reached at vog.n1534673642Tytnu1534673642oCsse1534673642rtneF1534673642@skci1534673642H.adn1534673642amA1534673642. County Commission Meetings are held every third Monday at 6:00 p.m. following a 5:00 o’clock work session. All meetings are open to the public.